2019 Essington Lewis Awards


The Essington Lewis Awards are designed to recognise excellence in industry and the Department of Defence collaboration, working together to overcome challenges or problems – ensuring that the ADF has or will have the materiel it needs, when it needs it, and at a cost that represents value for money.

This perpetual trophy is named in honour of Mr. Essington Lewis, the WWII industrialist credited with cementing Defence Industry as a key economic and capability force. Trophies and certificates will be awarded at a Gala dinner in Canberra in August, 2019.

The finalists

Major acquisition over $50 million

Craig International Ballistics and CASG’s Land 125 Phase 3B Program office for soldier body armour
BAE Systems and Hawk Lead In Fighter Capability Assurance Program office for Hawk upgrades

Minor Acquisition under $50 million

WAMA and Anzac SPO for Anzac class Interim IFF
Optus and CIOG for Optus C1 Satellite Life of Type Extension

Major sustainment over $20 million

BAE Systems Australia, Lockheed Martin Australia and Wide Area & Space Surveillance Systems Program Office for Jindalee Operational Radar Network (JORN) Sustainment Transition
Thales Australia and the Patrol Boat Systems Program Office for Armidale sustainment

Minor sustainment under $20 million

CEA Technologies and Anzac SPO for Anzac Anti Ship Missile Defence (ASMD) Follow On Support
Airbus Australia Pacific and ISREW Joint and Air SPO for Air 5416 Ph 4 B2 the RAAF C-130J LAIRCM program


Brooke Global and Amphibious Combat and Sealift SPO for LHD Future Supplier Engagement Model Project
Jacobs Australia and Combat Support Vehicle SPO for Land 155 (Bridging)




[Two De Force Sypaq]